Absolutely Unplanned!


Hello, there! πŸ™‚

Well, I wasn’t planning on a blog-post today, but sometimes it’s like I don’t have a choice in that matter. I just end up doing what I wasn’t planning to do on most days. πŸ˜€

Speaking of the unplanned events, I looked up my file of quotes on poetry and what caught my eye today was something that’s related to “the unplanned”.

“If you know what you are going to write when you’re writing a poem, it’s going to be average.”Β  ~Derek Walcott

This was today’s attention-winning quote! πŸ™‚ And to start with, I couldn’t agree more on this. A fortnight ago, I got to talk with a local writer who had come to extract some details from me after reading my book. And he asked me, “Do you write poems based on a theme and planning it, or do you just write what comes to you at that moment?”

The question was easy, the answer easier. I’m best at writing unplanned lines. I don’t usually have a title to my poems when I start it. (Some poems do, and we’ll talk about that later.) Because I told my interrogator, “I often don’t know what I had just written even after finishing a poem. I read it all over again a few times to find the essence of the poem and find a suitable title.”

You have no idea how much Walcott’s quote makes me ecstatic. πŸ˜€ But let me say that I won’t let my poems be rated by a quote from a person I frankly don’t know. πŸ™‚ I leave it to you.

To me, a poem that comes unplanned and is written without knowing what it’s about would be extremely beautiful if it’s adorned by rhyming and words like dreams, hope and love. πŸ˜€ Well, see, I’m a very undemanding person. The poet just have to be very good and understandable. πŸ˜‰

Writing mountains of verses and oceans of thoughts will be complete only when the readers understand a work. Again, that comes down to simplicity of writing. Let’s keep our poetry simple, however unplanned and unknown the topic is to ourselves. So that it reaches out to everyone alike. It’s something we must do for the sake of poetry. Keeping its beauty and keeping it simple.

Now, this is a scattered blog-post, without consistency because I’m in a hurry (I always am, I guess, I’ll try to work it out soon!) and it’s breakfast time. And my thoughts are not yet organized for today. πŸ™‚

But there’s new year coming and I will bring out a list of long-termed resolutions, just in case I want something to follow. No comments for that now, you’re going to see how different that is, when I post it. πŸ˜€

But now I’m at a fork. In the previous post I had talked about how my poetry was viewed as conclusive and explanatory. In this post, I said, for sure, my poetry is unplanned. It is, for I know what I feel when I write a poem, or a few lines. Whether itΒ  is average or better or below average – you readers have to rate it. πŸ™‚ But, the question to solve today is:

“Can poetry be unplanned and conclusive at the same time?”

I really gotta think about it. Because how can a work conclude on something when the poet doesn’t know what it is about, yet?

See you all soon. Have a great New Year’s Eve! And make sure you do something good and yes – holy, for once – when the new year dawns. Well, not exactly when it dawns – we’ll be sleeping at that time since it’s a Sunday. πŸ™‚ But I am talking about the day. Do something that you can remember without regret and without thinking, “WTF, what was I thinking that day?” and of course, the “NO” list should include alcohol. πŸ™‚ There isn’t such an ephemeral enjoyment (of unconscious nature) with long-term bad effects. πŸ™‚

Bye for now, I will be back again soon, Insha Allah…

Love Always, Sana

About Sana Rose

A medico in love with the pen since 13. Author of 'The Torrent from My Soul: Poems of A Born Dreamer'. Have more collections awaiting publication. Still gliding my pen to discover new horizons in poetry. Writing fiction, too, with a passion in Family and Relationships genre. Has a thing or two for matters of the human mind and heart. When not envisaging a story, photography seems interesting. Based in Calicut, Kerala - India.
This entry was posted in Books, Personal, Poetry, Random, Reading, Thoughts & Quotes, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment